Important Dates

  • August 29, 5:00 p.m. PDT: Deadline for submissions
  • September 11: Posters Notification
  • September 21: Camera-ready Deadline

Quick Links

General Information

We invite submissions to the poster category of ITS 2014.

The ITS 2014 poster program offers an engaging venue to present and discuss new and developing research. Posters provide the opportunity for researchers to get feedback on early-stage work, establish potential collaborations and discuss the burning issues in ITS 2014 in an informal manner with the larger ITS community during the interactive poster session.

Work that is best suited for a poster submission includes - but is not limited to - preliminary results, provoking and current topics, novel experiences or prototypes that have not been fully tested but show great promise, summaries of small-scale studies, design explorations of interactive tabletops and surfaces.

In addition to a poster being displayed during ITS 2014, a poster submission will feature

  • an extended abstract of the poster (max. 6 pages) published in the electronic conference proceedings in the ACM DL,
  • an optional video of up to 3 minutes length and at most 50MB in size,
  • a plenary fast-forward session.

Preparing the Submission

All submissions must include an extended abstract and a draft poster. The extended abstract has a maximum limit of 6 pages, including all figures and references, and must be in the SIGCHI Extended Abstracts Format (LaTeX Template, Word Template). It should include a concise description of the idea, the results or findings, supporting imagery and figures, and a discussion of the implications of the work to the selected domain. Full literature searches are not expected, although relevant citations should be included.

The reviewing of abstract will be single-blind -- that is, your submission should *not* be anonymized but reviewers will remain anonymous to you. As there is only one week after notification to the final camera-ready deadline, one cannot make larger changes until the camera-ready deadline. Final camera-ready versions of accepted papers therefore must be accompanied by a signed copyright form which will be provided to accepted authors. All submissions conflicting with one or more guidelines will be removed before the reviewing process as we could not assure an on-time publication.

Your abstract should be submitted by August 29, 2014 to the Precision Conference System. The submitted files must be in PDF format.


Posters abstracts will be reviewed by members of the ITS 2014 Poster Session Committee. Confidentiality of submissions is maintained during the review process. All rejected submissions will be kept confidential in perpetuity. All submitted materials for accepted submissions will be kept confidential until the start of the conference.

Presentation at the Conference

Upon acceptance you should prepare your poster in order to effectively communicate your research problem, techniques, and results. In particular you should highlight what is novel and important about your work. For each accepted poster, at least one author must register for the ITS 2014 conference. During a dedicated poster session, the author(s) will have the opportunity to present and discuss their poster with conference attendees.

The posters themselves have no predefined formatting, but we recommend that the posters dimensions are in A0 or similar format (84cm x 119cm / 33 x 47). The posters must be in portrait orientation. Authors are expected to bring the accepted posters to the conference site with them and be present throughout the poster session.

Final Submission

Subsequently, ACM will send you a copyright form, which you have to complete. Once completed, we will provide you with the new copyright information to be put on your paper. You can then submit the final version (including the new copyright notice) through the submission system.

More Information

If you have questions about Posters for ITS 2014, contact the Poster Chairs:
Petra Isenberg and Johannes Schöning at

Posters Committee

  • Craig Anslow (University of Calgary, Canada)
  • Anastasia Bezerianos (Université Paris-Sud/CNRS/INRIA, France)
  • Anke Brock (University of Toulouse, France)
  • Christopher Collins (UOIT, Canada)
  • Ricardo Costa (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Tobias Isenberg (INRIA, France)
  • Marcel Lancelle (ETHZ, Switzerland)
  • Bongshin Lee (MSR, USA)
  • Nicolai Marquardt (UCL, UK)
  • Ann Morrison (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  • Takuja Nojima (UEC, Tokyo)
  • Martin Spindler, (University of Magdeburg; Germany)
  • Dimitar Valkov (University of Münster, Germany)
  • Davy Vanacken (Hasselt University, Belgium)
  • Fred Vernier (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Simon Völker (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
  • Julie Wagner, (LMU Munich, Germany)
  • Ulrich von Zadow (TU Dresden, Germany)